Technical Education

Indian Institutes of Technology

Indian Institutes of Technology are apex institutions for engineering education and research. At present, there are sixteen Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) viz. at Bombay, Delhi, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Guwahati, Roorkee, Hyderabad, Patna, Bhubaneshwar, Ropar, Jodhpur, Gandhinagar, Indore, Mandi and Varanasi. All are governed by The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 which has declared them as "Institutions of national importance", and lays down their powers, duties, framework for governance etc.

The main objective of IITs is to impart world class education in engineering and technology; to conduct research in the relevant fields, and to further advancement of learning and dissemination of knowledge. These Institutes are also contributing significantly to education and research in basic sciences and humanities. As part of the national plan of science and technology, five Centers of Advanced Study and Research have been set up in the Indian Institutes of Technology in Energy Studies (Delhi), Material Science (Kanpur), Cryogenic Engineering (Kharagpur), Ocean Engineering (Madras) and Resource Engineering (Bombay).

The IITs offer undergraduate programmes in various branches of engineering and technology; postgraduate programmes with specialization and Ph.D. programmes in various engineering and science disciplines, interdisciplinary areas; and conduct basic, applied and sponsored research. At present, IITs offer B. Tech., B. Arch, M.Sc., M. Design, M. Phil., M. Tech, MBA and Ph.D. Degrees. The quality of teaching and research in IITs is of international standards. The Institutes are continuously evaluating and modifying curricula as per the emerging trends in the industry. They also contribute to updating the knowledge of faculty of other Engineering Colleges through Quality Improvement Programmes. As host institutions under the Early Faculty Development Programme (EFDP), IITs act as nuclei to cater to the technical requirements of the respective regions.

Students into UG programmes in IITs are admitted on the basis of Indian Institute of Technology-Joint Entrance Examination (IIT-JEE). From the year 2013 the Joint Entrance Examination for admission would be conducted in two parts, conducted in two parts, JEE-MAIN and JEE-ADVANCED. JEE ADVANCED examination will be held after JEE MAIN with a suitable time gap. Only the top 150,000 candidates (including all categories) in JEE MAIN will be qualified to appear in the JEE Advanced examination. Admissions to IITs will be based only on category wise All India Rank (AIR) in JEE ADVANCED subject to condition that such candidates are in the top 20 percentile of successful candidates of their Boards in applicable categories.

The admission to PG programmes is conducted through a Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE).



Emblem Ministry of Human Resource Development-Government of India