University and Higher Education

Central Universities

There are 40 Central Universities under the purview of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, created under the Act of Parliament. Out of them 16 new Central Universities have been established w.e.f 15.1.2009 in hitherto uncovered States (except Goa), by an ordinance promulgated by the president of India. The ordinance has since been replaced by an Act of parliament, namely, Central Universities Act, 2009 which has been assented to by the president of India on 20th March, 2009. While 38 of these are getting maintenance and development grants by the Central Government through the UGC, IGNOU, New Delhi is funded directly by the Ministry of HRD.

  • President of India is the Visitor of all Central Universities

  • President/Visitor nominates some members to the executive Committee/ Board of Management/Court/Selection Committees of the University as per the provisions made in the relevant University Act.

  • President as Visitor also exercises powers in respect of amendments, additions and repeal of status; suspension and disallowance of Ordinances; ordering enquiries into the affairs of the Universities; and resolution of disputes between Selection Committees and the executive Councils.

  • Ministry provides secretariat service for appointment of Vice-Chancellor, Visitor’s nominee on the Executive Committees, Courts, Selection Committees by the Visitor and also examines each matter that comes up for Visitor’s consideration and orders.

List of Central Universities:


The University of Delhi, was established in February 1922. This is one of the premier Institutions of higher learning in the country and offers undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in a wide range of disciplines in addition to short and long-term certificate/diploma courses in several application-oriented subjects. (



The North Eastern Hill University (NEHU) was established in 1973 by an Act of Parliament with focus on improvement of the social and economic conditions and welfare of the people of the hill areas of North East Region and in particular their intellectual academic and cultural advancement. The jurisdiction of the University is now confined to the State of Meghalaya, with campuses at Shillong and TURA. (



Assam University was established in 1994 at Silchar. It is a teaching-cum-affiliating University having jurisdiction over the districts of Cachar, Karimganj, Hailakandi, Karbi, Anglong and North Cachar Hills in the State of Assam. It conducts Postgraduate, M.Phil. and Ph.D. courses. In addition a few Five year integrated courses like Social work, Law, Computer Sciences, Fine Arts and a couple of self financing courses are also conducted by the University. (



Tezpur University, a teaching and residential University located at Napaam, Tezpur (Assam), was set up in January, 1994. The University is offering PG Programmes and PG Diploma Programmes and Part time MBA Programme. (




Emblem Ministry of Human Resource Development-Government of India